How Do I Set My Facebook to Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can select who will see that post, in addition to all future posts. However, what if you want to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How Do I Set My Facebook To Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and selecting your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that just changes one post, and if you wish to change every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be very tedious.

How Do I Set My Facebook To Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Friends of Buddies" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow next to the Personal privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of alternatives on the left.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my stuff?" section, click in the "Limit the audience for posts you've shared with pals of buddies or Public" area.

The area expands and displays a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limitation Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting automatically restricts the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you want to limit posts to a custom-made person or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you should change the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we discussed earlier in this article.

As soon as you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box shows to make sure you actually desire to alter the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later.

Click "Validate" if you decide to go on and limit all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box shows when the modification is total. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those past posts. This setting just changes the audience for posts that are shared with friends of good friends or the general public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a previous post, that individual, in addition to other individuals that individual consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to take care who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting only limits the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in someone else's post, just they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your friends publish pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How Do I Set My Facebook To Private with your friends.