How to Set Facebook Profile to Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, as well as all future posts. However, exactly what if you wish to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Set Facebook Profile To Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, picking "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. However that just alters one post, and if you wish to alter each and every single Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be very laborious.

How To Set Facebook Profile To Private



However, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Friends of Friends" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of alternatives on the left.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my stuff?" section, click in the "Limit the audience for posts you've shared with pals of friends or Public" section.

The area expands and shows a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting immediately restricts the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you wish to limit posts to a custom individual or group of individuals, such as Close Pals, you need to change the audience for each post separately, one at a time, as we discussed earlier in this short article.

When you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box shows to make sure you actually desire to change the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Make sure you want to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would need to change the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you decide to go on and restrict all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box shows when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when using the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those previous posts. This setting just alters the audience for posts that are shared with buddies of pals or the general public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a past post, that individual, along with other people that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting only limits the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in another person's post, just they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your pals post images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Set Facebook Profile To Private with your friends.