Make Facebook Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, as well as all future posts. Nevertheless, exactly what if you wish to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that Make Facebook Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, picking "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. But that just alters one post, and if you desire to change each Facebook post you've ever made, that would be extremely tiresome.

Make Facebook Private



However, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Buddies of Friends" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow beside the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of options left wing.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my stuff?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown buddies of pals or Public" area.

The area expands and displays a description of what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Pals, click "Limitation Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limitation Old Posts setting immediately restricts the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you wish to limit posts to a custom-made person or group of individuals, such as Close Friends, you must alter the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we pointed out earlier in this post.

As soon as you have actually clicked "Limitation Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box shows to make sure you actually wish to alter the audience for all your old posts without examining them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later.

Click "Confirm" if you choose to go on and restrict all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box displays when the change is total. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those past posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shared with good friends of buddies or the general public.

  • If you've tagged someone in a previous post, that person, along with other people that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's wise to take care who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting just limits the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your buddies post pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the Make Facebook Private with your friends.