Making Facebook Private

When you post on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, in addition to all future posts. However, what if you wish to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that Making Facebook Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that just alters one post, and if you desire to change each and every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be very laborious.

Making Facebook Private



However, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Friends of Pals" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To alter this setting, access your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the web browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of choices left wing.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my stuff?" section, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shared with good friends of pals or Public" area.

The area expands and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limitation Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting automatically restricts the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you wish to restrict posts to a customized person or group of individuals, such as Close Friends, you need to change the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we mentioned previously in this post.

As soon as you've clicked "Limitation Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box shows to make sure you truly want to alter the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Make sure you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you choose to go ahead and restrict all your old posts to Pals.

Another dialog box shows when the change is total. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those past posts. This setting just changes the audience for posts that are shared with good friends of good friends or the general public.

  • If you've tagged someone in a past post, that individual, as well as other individuals that person consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to be cautious who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting just limits the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in another person's post, only they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by avoiding your name from being suggested when your buddies publish images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the Making Facebook Private with your friends.