Can I Merge My Facebook Accounts

Every now and then individuals ask us Can I Merge My Facebook Accounts or more Facebook accounts. Currently don't obtain your hopes up! The fact is, it is not feasible to automatically merge Facebook accounts. However, there are workarounds.

While Facebook does not use a way to auto-merge all your friends, pictures, status updates, check-ins or various other information, you can manually merge parts of your accounts. All it takes is a little preparation and persistence. Unfortunately, you won't have the ability to migrate or re-create all your Data.


Can I Merge My Facebook Accounts


Bulk Download Data

As a very first step I advise to mass download your Facebook Data, a treatment I have defined formerly. This treatment can take some time and also the archive will function as a marginal backup, ought to you choose to shut off or remove your account. It will not be of terrific aid in restoring any kind of Data, though.

Quickly, go to your General Account Settings and also click Download a copy of your Facebook Data at the bottom.


This will certainly lead you to a web page where you could download your info and also get a copy of just what you have actually shared on Facebook.


Currently do start your archive on this very first web page. In addition find where it says You could likewise Download a broadened archive ... as well as click the particular web link. This will assist you to the Expanded Archive Download web page where you will be asked to re-enter your password.


Now below is where you will require persistence. Relying on exactly how large your major and your expanded archive are and how many various other archives remain in the line up, this can take some time. As well as with that I indicate a few hours.

Note that you have to Download both archives, to receive a full back-up of your account!


As soon as your archive is readily available for download, this is exactly what the web page will certainly resemble.


Although your very own photos are meant to be consisted of in the archive, you ought to download your Facebook Photos individually. Not only is this procedure another back-up, it is likewise a whole lot faster and may offer you with more choices.

Restore Friends

As stated above, you will not be able to Restore or migrate all of your Data and that includes your friends. You need to manually add friends to your new account. Sadly, it is not feasible export your Facebook friends to a 3rd party account then re-import them to a new Facebook account.

However, you can import get in touches with from third party accounts such as Skype or Gmail. So if you have get in touch with information of the majority of your friends on accounts beyond Facebook, you could take a small shortcut. Most likely to your brand-new Facebook account and import get in touches with from any sustained third party account (CSV files are likewise sustained) using the Discover Friends page.


While you could export your Facebook get in touches with to Yahoo! Mail, it is not be feasible to re-import them to Facebook. And contacts imported from Facebook will certainly not be consisted of in a Yahoo! CSV file.

I wrote a separate post on how to back up your Facebook contacts. Keep in mind that just get in touch with details of friends that have agreed to have their e-mail address consisted of in info downloads can be imported right into your Yahoo! account.

Restore Account Data

Below comes the huge letdown. There is no chance to publish or otherwise import your archive to Restore or transfer Data from your old Facebook account to your brand-new one. Whatever you wish to Restore, you need to do it (semi-) manually or make use of third party devices. Right now, the archive just serves as an individual backup, nothing more.

So what are your options? You could re-add your old friends as shown above, re-upload photos you downloaded and install from your old account, re-tag your friends in your pictures, re-join groups you were a member of, re-add Facebook apps, manually re-do all your individual Settings, including general account as well as privacy Settings, e.g. secure your Facebook account, include trusted contacts, or conceal your personal Settings. I want I had great information, but as I said before, you can not auto-merge 2 accounts or Restore Data, so you basically start from scratch.

What You Will Lose

You will certainly shed a lot! Your whole Timeline and also Information Feed background will be gone, including messages or pictures you were tagged in, places you checked into, all the Sorts you provided or got, or groups you belonged to, all your account and personal privacy Settings, as well as any other records you collected over time. Your images and friends are really all you can take with you, everything else has to be re-created by hand.

Shut off or Close Your Old Facebook Account.

If you make a decision to deactivate or close your old Facebook account, make sure to include your brand-new account as an admin to any kind of Teams or Pages you handle. Otherwise you will lose access to them.

Once you have actually looked after admin duties, have actually downloaded all your Data, and also make certain you wish to totally eliminate your account, log into the Facebook account you want to close, and go to the Delete My Account web page to begin the process. We have actually formerly described The best ways to Appropriately Shut Your Facebook Account.

Conclusion

Facebook permits you to Download an archive of your account. However, there is no matching system in place to recover your Data, needs to the account get jeopardized. Facebook never planned to offer a recover feature; instead they were legitimately required to offer a means for users to download their Data. As a result, users are left with only half-baked remedies or awkward workarounds, must they prefer to merge or relocate accounts.

Just what would certainly trouble you most if you had to transfer to a new Facebook account?