How to Make My Facebook Completely Private

When you post on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, as well as all future posts. However, exactly what if you wish to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Make My Facebook Completely Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that just changes one post, and if you want to alter each Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be extremely tedious.

How To Make My Facebook Completely Private



However, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Buddies of Buddies" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of alternatives left wing.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my stuff?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you've shared with buddies of buddies or Public" section.

The section broadens and shows a description of exactly what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Friends, click "Limitation Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limit Old Posts setting instantly restricts the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you wish to restrict posts to a custom person or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you should change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we pointed out previously in this post.

When you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you actually wish to alter the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Make certain you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would have to change the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you decide to go on and restrict all your old posts to Pals.

Another dialog box displays when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to consider when using the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shared with good friends of good friends or the public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a previous post, that person, along with other people that person consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's a good idea to be careful who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting just restricts the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your good friends publish pictures that include you.

And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make My Facebook Completely Private with your friends.