How to Make My Facebook Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, along with all future posts. However, what if you desire to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Make My Facebook Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. But that only alters one post, and if you wish to change every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be really laborious.

How To Make My Facebook Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Friends of Pals" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To change this setting, access your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow beside the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the internet browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of choices on the left.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limit the audience for posts you have actually shown pals of pals or Public" section.

The area expands and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Friends, click "Limitation Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limitation Old Posts setting automatically limits the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you wish to limit posts to a custom-made individual or group of individuals, such as Close Friends, you must change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we mentioned earlier in this short article.

When you've clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box displays to make sure you truly wish to change the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would need to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later.

Click "Confirm" if you decide to proceed and restrict all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box displays when the modification is total. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when using the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with customized audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those past posts. This setting just changes the audience for posts that are shown buddies of good friends or the public.

  • If you've tagged someone in a past post, that individual, in addition to other individuals that person consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's a good idea to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting only restricts the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in another person's post, just they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your pals publish pictures that include you.

And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make My Facebook Private with your friends.