How to Put Your Facebook On Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, along with all future posts. Nevertheless, what if you wish to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Put Your Facebook On Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and selecting your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. But that only alters one post, and if you wish to change each Facebook post you've ever made, that would be really laborious.

How To Put Your Facebook On Private



However, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Pals of Buddies" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To change this setting, access your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the web browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of alternatives left wing.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown pals of good friends or Public" section.

The section expands and displays a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Pals, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting instantly restricts the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you wish to restrict posts to a custom person or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you must change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we pointed out earlier in this article.

As soon as you have actually clicked "Limitation Old Posts", a verification dialog box displays to make sure you actually wish to alter the audience for all your old posts without examining them.

Make sure you desire to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would need to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Verify" if you decide to proceed and restrict all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box displays when the change is total. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those previous posts. This setting just alters the audience for posts that are shown friends of friends or the general public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a past post, that individual, along with other people that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's a good idea to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting only restricts the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, just they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your pals publish images that include you.

And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Put Your Facebook On Private with your friends.