Facebook How to Make Your Profile Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, along with all future posts. However, exactly what if you want to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that Facebook How To Make Your Profile Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. However that only alters one post, and if you wish to alter each and every single Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be extremely tedious.

Facebook How To Make Your Profile Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Pals of Buddies" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To change this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow beside the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of alternatives on the left.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my stuff?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shared with friends of friends or Public" area.

The area expands and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limit Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limit Old Posts setting automatically limits the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you wish to restrict posts to a custom individual or group of individuals, such as Close Friends, you need to change the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we mentioned previously in this article.

When you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box displays to make sure you truly wish to alter the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Make certain you want to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you decide to proceed and restrict all your old posts to Pals.

Another dialog box displays when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when utilizing the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting just changes the audience for posts that are shared with buddies of pals or the public.

  • If you have actually tagged someone in a previous post, that person, along with other individuals that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting only limits the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in someone else's post, only they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your pals publish photos that include you.

And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the Facebook How To Make Your Profile Private with your friends.