How to Make Your Facebook Account Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can select who will see that post, as well as all future posts. However, exactly what if you want to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How To Make Your Facebook Account Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, picking "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. However that just changes one post, and if you wish to alter each and every single Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be really tedious.

How To Make Your Facebook Account Private



However, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Pals of Buddies" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To alter this setting, access your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the web browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of options left wing.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my stuff?" section, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you've shown pals of friends or Public" area.

The area broadens and displays a description of what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Pals, click "Limit Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limit Old Posts setting instantly restricts the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you desire to limit posts to a customized person or group of individuals, such as Close Pals, you must alter the audience for each post separately, one at a time, as we pointed out earlier in this short article.

Once you have actually clicked "Limitation Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box shows to make sure you really want to change the audience for all your old posts without examining them.

Make sure you wish to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would have to change the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later.

Click "Confirm" if you decide to go ahead and restrict all your old posts to Pals.

Another dialog box shows when the modification is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when using the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those previous posts. This setting just changes the audience for posts that are shared with good friends of buddies or the public.

  • If you have actually tagged someone in a past post, that person, along with other people that person included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to be mindful who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting just limits the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your pals post images that include you.

And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make Your Facebook Account Private with your friends.